Home » Astrological Terminology Dictionary » Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'W'

Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'W'

Water Bearer
The zodiac Sign of Aquarius is also know as Water Bearers although it is an air sign, the figure representing Aquarius shows a human carrying a pot filled with water.
Water Signs
The 12 signs of the zodiac are subdivided according to the four elements - earth, air, fire, and water. The three water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces. The watery signs represent emotions, feelings, imaginative and creative things. For more details please visit our 12 Astrology Signs page.
Waxing and Waning
Waxing and Waning are terms generally used to describe increasing and decreasing light of Moon, but can also refer to other planets. Every month Moon wax or increase in light after New Moon till it reaches total or Full Moon. Thereafter it starts waning or decreasing in light till it reaches New Moon. While waxing any planetary body is said to be increasing in its strength and it decreases in strength while waning. The increase or decrease in the Moon's light is more important in electional astrology.
Weak Signs
As per ancient astrology the weak signs were Cancer, Capricorn, and Pisces but in modern times this classification of signs is not used anymore.
Whole Signs
The signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius - that is all the air signs were considered as Whole Signs by ancient astrologers, sometimes Whole Signs were also know as Perfect Signs. These were indicative of strong and healthy bodies. This classification of signs is also not used by modern astrologers.

Astrology Terms starting with letter: 

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2015