Home » Astrological Terminology Dictionary » Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'H'

Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'H'

Hades is one of the eight hypothetical planets, also referred to as the Trans Neptunian planets, used in Uranian astrology. Pluto is also referred to as Lord of the Hades or underworld.
Hansak Tatwa
The element related to the Moon based upon its sign placement.
Hard Aspects
Hard aspects are aspects or angular relationship present between two or more given planets or points in any horoscope that present challenges. Generally 45 degrees and its multiple aspects are considered as hard, for example Semi-Square (45 degrees), Square (90 degrees), Sesquiquadrate (135 degrees) and the Oppositions (180 degrees).
Harmonic Astrology
Harmonic astrology is the term used for a system of astrological analysis developed by British astrologer John Addey in the 1960s and 1970s. In harmonic astrology an aspect is viewed as a fraction of a circle. For example, a trine aspect of 120° is 1/3 of a circle, a square is 1/4 of a circle, a sextile is 1/6 of a circle, and a quincunx is 5/12, and so on. Harmonic astrologers believe that astrological aspects have much in common with sound waves.
Harmonic Chart
A harmonic chart is a secondary chart constructed by multiplying all of the various factors in the primary chart by the harmonic number under consideration. Harmonic charts are rarely used by western astrologers but are used extensively in Hindu astrology.
The thirteenth constellation or lunar mansion used in Vedic Astrology. It is located from 10 degree Virgo to 23.20 degree Virgo. The sign is ruled by Mercury and the star is governed by Moon.
Heavy Planets
The heavy planets are more commonly known as the outer planets, which take longer to travel through the zodiac. The heavy planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto.
Heliacal is derived from the Greek word helios, meaning "sun". The heliacal rising of a star is its first appearance following a period of invisibility due to its conjunction with the Sun. Similarly, the heliacal setting of a star refers to its last appearance before entering into a conjunction with the Sun.
Heliocentric Astrology
Some astrologers consider using a heliocentric or Sun-centered system of astrology as opposed to traditional geocentric or Earth-centered astrology.
Hemisphere literally means a half sphere. In astrology, hemisphere refers to the division of a horoscope into upper and lower halves using the ascendant-descendant axis as the dividing line or into left and right halves using the midheaven - imum coeli axis as the dividing line.
Uranus is also know as Herschel after Sir William Herschel, the astronomer who discovered Uranus.
Hesperus is the name given to Venus when it appears as the Evening Star.
Hindu Astrology
Vedic Astrology sometimes referred to as Hindu Astrology.
One of the division of signs where a sign is divided in two parts of 15 degrees each. It is used for prediction regarding one's wealth. It is also used to describe a part of a day ruled by a particular planet. Each hora is of one hour length. The time is measured by dividing by 12 either the length of the day between sunrise and sunset, or the length of the night between sunset and sunrise.
Hora Lagna
One of three special ascendants, mathematically derived from the time from sunrise to birth. Every hour a different sign occurs as the Lagna.
Hora Sara
Classic astrological text written by Prithuyasas, son of Varahamihira.
Horary Astrology
Horary astrology is one of the branches of astrology. The purpose of horary astrology is to provide answer to any one single question. A horoscope is cast at the time of asking the question and thus dose not need ones date or time of birth.
Horizon System
The horizon system is a system of house division in which the horizon is split into 12 arcs of 30 degrees.
A horoscope is the map of heaven or sky with planets and stars, as seen from any specific location on Earth.
House Lords
A Horoscope is constructed with 12 imaginary houses and planets placed in them. The lord of the sign of zodiac which falls on starting point (cusp) of any house is know as House lord. There also are natural house lords, for example Mars is natural house lord for the 1st house.
The 12 imaginary divisions of the horoscope each pertaining to certain areas of life. There are several house systems used and followed in astrology. For further details please visit our 12 Houses page.
Human Signs
The human signs are the signs of the zodiac represented by human figures. Gemini (The twins), Virgo (The virgin), Aquarius (The water bearers) and the 1st half of Sagittarius (Centaur) are human signs as they are represented by human forms.
Humanistic Astrology
Humanistic astrology was created in the 1930s by Dane Rudhyar, Rudhyar stresses the concept that astrology should be "person-centered," that the individual birth chart is intended as a guide for telling a person how best to actualize as fully as possible her or his birth potential. Behind this lies the concept common to all modern astrology, psychology, and therapy.
Hurtful Signs
The term "hurtful signs" is an older designation for the signs Aries, Taurus, Cancer, Scorpio, and Capricorn. They are so called because the animal symbols of these zodiacal signs appear capable of "hurting" human beings.
The Hyleg (Arabic), Apheta (Greek), Prorogator (Latin), or Giver of Life, was a planet or point that was calculated as part of the process to evaluate both the life expectancy and periods when the native was at mortal risk. When this point was directed (using what are now called primary directions) to an Anareta (or killing point; there may be more than one), or vice versa, death occurs.
Hypothetical Planets
Planets which are imaginary or hidden or the existence of which is not verified. Lunar nodes or Rahu, Ketu and various Uranian planets are example of hypothetical planets.

Astrology Terms starting with letter: 

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2015