Home » Astrological Terminology Dictionary » Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'G'

Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'G'

One of the Ashtakoot Gunas used in compatibility between prospective bride and groom. It is based upon the qualities of the Nakshatra or the lunar mansion occupied by Moon and consists of either Deva (divine), Manusha (human) or Rakshasa (demon) Gana.
The simultaneous junction point between two rashis and two nakshatras. This occurs only at the junction of Pisces and Aries, Cancer and Leo, and Scorpio and Sagittarius.
Garga Hora
Ancient text book attributed to Sage Garga, one of the first exponents of Vedic Astrology, that gives the effects of two or more planets in a house.
Gemini or Mithun is the third sign of the Zodiac. It is indicated by two children. The symbol of Gemini is indicates by two vertical and horizontal lines symbolize the duality. In heavens it starts from 60 degrees and extends up to 89 degrees. Gemini is ruled by planet Mercury, it is mutable, airy and masculine sign. The Sun stays in Gemini from 15th June to 15th July as per sidereal zodiac which is followed by Vedic Astrologers and from 22nd May to 21st June as per Tropical Zodiac followed by Western Astrologers.
There is said to be a correlation between gemstones and planets and thus astrology. In the Vedic Astrology, each planet has one primary gemstone thought some secondary gemstones are also considered. The color is an extremely important factor attributing a particular gemstone to a planet. Ruby is for Sun, Pearl for Moon, Diamond for Venus, Emerald for Mercury, Red Coral for Mars, Yellow Sapphire for Jupiter, Blue Sapphire for Saturn and Hessonite or Gomed and Cat's Eyes for Rahu (Lunar North Node) and Ketu (Lunar South Node) respectively.
Geniture is an older term for a personal horoscope.
Geocentric Astrology
Geocentric means Earth-centered, and geocentric astrology refers to a astrological system that uses Earth as the point of reference from which to record the positions of celestial bodies. Some astrologers have experimented with heliocentric or Sun centered systems, creating heliocentric astrology.
Geographical Astrology
Geographical astrology is a subdivision of mundane astrology, which deals with the astrological associations between the zodiac and geographical locations.
Ghatika Lagna
One of three special ascendants mathematically derived from the time from sunrise to birth.
Ghatika Lagna Chart
A Bhava chart calculated on the basis of every Ghati (24 minutes) having a different sign as the Lagna or Ascendant.
A unit of time used in Vedic Astrology. 1 Ghati = 24 minutes.
Astrological glyphs are symbols that represent celestial bodies, signs, or other components of a horoscope. Glyphs constitute a kind of shorthand that allows astrologers to concentrate a large amount of information in a small space.
Vedic Astrology term for Transits, the movement of planets in the heavens.
Gochara Kundali
Vedic Astrology term for Transit chart.
Vedic Astrology term for a Planet.
Graha Maitri
One of the Ashtakoot Gunas used in compatibility between prospective bride and groom. It is based upon the mutual relationship of the lord of the couples' Moon signs.
Graha Pinda
Points earned by planets after all Ashtakavarga reductions, used in Vedic Astrology.
Vedic Astrology term used to describe the strength of a planet due to its placement.
Vedic Astrology term for Planets, and includes the Sun, Moon, Rahu and Ketu.
Grand Cross
It is a configuration of a cross formed in a horoscope by four or more planets. Each planet successively makes a square (an aspect of 90 degrees) to the preceding planet, and the planets directly across the chart from each other are involved in oppositions (180 degree aspects). Because astrological signs at 90 degree angles to each other belong to the same quality (cardinal, mutable, or fixed), grand crosses tend to involve planets in all four signs of one quality. Thus, grand crosses can be classified as cardinal crosses, mutable crosses, or fixed crosses. The grand crosses that involve planets in signs of different qualities are referred to as mixed crosses.
Grand Trine
When at least three planets are involved a trine aspect 120 degree apart, a Grand Trine is formed. Because astrological signs at 120 degree angles to each other belong to the same element (earth, air, fire, or water), grand trines tend to involve planets in all three signs of one element. Thus, grand trines can be classified as grand earth trines, grand air trines, grand fire trines, or grand water trines. The grand trines that involve planets in signs of different elements are referred to as mixed grand trines.
Great Circle
A great circle is any circle drawn on a sphere, the plane of which also passes through the inside of the sphere. Great circles are the basis of various systems for locating terrestrial and celestial bodies in terms of sets of coordinates expressed in degrees of a circle. Longitude and latitude are the most familiar of these coordinates. The ecliptic, the celestial equator, and the prime vertical are examples of some of the great circles used in astrology.
Greenwich Time
Because of the variation in time caused by various time changes as one moves east or west across Earth, astrologers have found it convenient to construct tables of planetary positions with the time at Greenwich, England, as a benchmark. Greenwich lies exactly on the 0 degree longitude line, which makes it relatively easy to determine the number of hours to add or subtract to local time in order to obtain Greenwich time as 15 degrees = 1 hour.
Gulika also know as Mandi, is the son of Saturn and a malefic but have no physical existance just like Rahu and Ketu. It is calculated by dividing the day into 8 portions, the first portion ruled by Saturn is Gulika.
The part of day ruled by Gulika.
One of the eight Ashtakoot Gunas used in compatibility between prospective bride and groom. It also refers to the qualities: Satva, Rajas and Tamas.
Vedic Astrology name for planet Jupiter.

Astrology Terms starting with letter: 

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2015