Home » Astrological Terminology Dictionary » Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'V'

Dictionary and Glossary of Astrological Terms starting with letter 'V'

Vedic Astrology
The Vedas are said to be the direct revelations from the divine to the sages. The meaning of Veda is "to know" or "the "knowledge" which gives rise to awareness, intelligence and discrimination. Hindu astrology or Vedic astrology is know as Jyotish, is a part of the Vedas as it is said to be the eyes of the Vedas. In Vedic period astrology was an integral part of society and was consulted for major activities. Jyotish means to 'lighten up' or to 'enlighten'. Jyotish (Vedic Astrology) is composed of Ganita (astronomy) and Phalita (astrology). Sage Parashara is said to be the father of Vedic Astrology and his book Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra contains details about all the aspect of Vedic Astrology. It is based on the Sidereal zodiac wear as Western astrology is based on Tropical zodiac. Vedic astrology is recognized for its spiritual depth and accuracy in prediction.
Venus or Shukra as know in Vedic astrology. It is the second farthest planet from the Sun. It is the brightest thing in the sky besides the Sun and Moon. As seen from the Earth, Venus never gets more than 48 degrees away from the Sun. Venus retrograde period is about 40 to 43 days and it gets and it retrograde approximately every nineteen months. The Venus is of feminine gender, karaka or significator of potency and desire, as relationship significator it denotes the spouse, as body part significator it governs the pelvis and reproductive organs. As per planetary cabinet it have the status of minister or advisor, its temperament is easy going and accommodating, its element is Jala or water, its primary quality or Guna is Rajo Guna or imperious and passionate, by caste it is Brahmin or priest and its nature is benefic. It is the ruler of zodiacal sign of Taurus and Libra and astrological second and seventh houses, its exaltation sign is Pisces, debilitation sign is Virgo and determent sign is Aries. Its gemstone is diamond and substitute gemstone is white sapphire and white and variegated colors are ruled by it. Positive key words for Venus are harmony, devotion, refinement, affection, and responsiveness. Negative key words for Venus are laziness, indifference, self-indulgence, superficial, and flirtatious. As per Numerology numbers 6, 15, 24, 33 and all those that adds up to six, are governed by it. For more details on Venus please visit our Venus in Astrology page.
Vernal Equinox
Vernal means "of the spring" and Equinox in means "equal night," in Latin and it refers to one of the two days of the year on which day light time and night time are equal in duration. The vernal equinox occurs on or around March 21, marks the beginning of the sign Aries and the spring season.
Te vertex is the point in a horoscope where the prime vertical intersects the ecliptic in the west. The anti-vertex is the corresponding point in the east. It is said to be the most fated point of the chart.
The asteroids are smaller heavenly bodies that orbit the Sun and are located between Mars and Jupiter. The asteroid Vesta was discovered in 1807 and named after goddesses of classical antiquity.
Via Combusta
Via Combusta is Latin for "burning way" which usually refers to the first half of the sign of Scorpio. Several malefic fixed stars were located in the first half of Scorpio but have been moved and are no longer located in Scorpio. But this is still used in Horary astrology.
A vigintile or a semidecile is a minor aspect of 18° formed by dividing a circle into 20 equal subdivisions. This aspect is rarely used and its influence is said ti be mildly favorable.
There are 16 types of horoscopes, known collectively as Shodashvarga or the Divisional Charts, and each one is used for judging a different aspect of life. Vimshamsha is one of the Shodashvarga or the Divisional Charts and it is derived by sub dividing a sign in 20 equal parts, thus each part consists of 1 degree and 30 minutes. Vimshamsha is used to judge Spiritual Progress.
Vimshottari Dasha
Vedic astrology has numerous dasa systems used for predicting events. Each dasa system divides one's life into periods, sub-periods, sub-sub-periods and so on. Each dasa system is good at showing events of a specific nature. But Vimshottari Dasa system is most commonly used. Vimshottari Dasa's cycle is of 120 years with Sun 6 years, Moon 10 years, Mercury 17 years, Venus 20 years, Mars 7 years, Jupiter 16 years, Saturn 19 years, Rahu 18 years & Ketu 7 years. The position of Moon at birth determines the starting point in Dasa and it continues from there according to predefined time lengths assigned to each planet in a specific order.
Violent Signs
Aries, Libra, Scorpio, Capricorn and Aquarius are termed as Violent signs. This classification is no longer in much use in modern astrology.
Virgin is a popular name for the sign Virgo.
Virgo or Kanya as know in Vedic Astrology is the sixth sign of the Zodiac. It is indicated by a Virgin. The symbol of Virgo is indicates by the feminine sexual parts. In heavens it starts from 150 degrees and extends up to 179 degrees. The Sun stays in Virgo from 17th September to 16th October as per sidereal zodiac which is followed by Vedic Astrologers and from 23rd August to 22nd September as per Tropical Zodiac followed by Western Astrologers. The entry and exit dates of the Sun for any particular zodiac sign dose vary by one day during some years. Virgo is ruled by the planet Mercury it is mutable, earthy, feminine sign, governs stomach, nervous system, digestive tract and the sixth house of the horoscope. Its characteristics are thoroughness, yearning for perfection, criticality, analytics, servitude, sense for details, practicality. It symbolizes analysis of achieved goals, instinct for questioning achieved and self-criticism. For more details on Virgo please visit our Virgo or Kanya astrology sign page.
Vishakha Nakshatra
The 16th of the 27 Nakshatra or lunar mansions used in Vedic Astrology. It is located between 20.00 Libra to 3.20 Scorpio. The sign ruled by Venus (Libra) for the first two third parts and by Mars (Scorpio) for the next one third parts and the star is governed by Jupiter.
Vocal Signs
Gemini, Libra and Aquarius, all the air signs are termed as Vocal signs for obvious reason.
Vocational Astrology
It is a branch of astrology that deals with career guidance and related forecasting.
Void of Course
Any planet, point or heavenly body is said to be Void of Course when it completes and separate from a major aspect from another planet and will not form any other major aspect before leaving its current Sign. This concept is much used in Horary Astrology and is said to deny whatever is asked for or desired.
Vrishabh or Rishabh is Vedic astrology term for Taurus. For more details on Vrishabh please visit our Taurus or Rishabh astrology sign page.
Vrishchik is Vedic astrology term for Scorpio. For more details on Vrishabh please visit our Scorpio astrology sign page.
An hypothetical trans-Neptunian planet, used in medieval period, its orbit is supposed to lie inside that of Mercury. The name Vulcan is derived from the word volcano.
Vulcanus is one of the eight hypothetical trans-Neptunian planets uses in Uranian astrology. Vulcanus represents powerful energy and force, which is difficult to control. It can also symbolize a person's reservoir and depletion of that energy.

Astrology Terms starting with letter: 

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2015