Home » The 9 Planets

The 9 Planets In Vedic Astrology

In every ancient civilization heavenly bodies were looked upon as gods and there are hundreds of mythological stories concerning planets. The Vedic Astrology recognizes nine heavenly bodies as planets, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. Sun, Moon and Moon's nodes Rahu and Ketu are also treated as planets in astrology. Vedic Astrology does not take Uranus, Neptune and Pluto in account. However, ancient text of Vedic astrology mentioned five non luminous planets, invisible to naked eye, but they are seldom used for predictive purpose.

Details regarding astronomy, mythology, astrology, mantra and remedies for each planet are mentioend in pages linked below.

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2013